A For Effort!

June 24, 2010 at 1:52 pm | Posted in Alex Ovechkin, Happy!!, Jose Theodore, Mike Green, NHL Awards, Patrick Kane, Players, Ryan Miller, Sidney Crosby, Tyler Myers | Leave a comment

Well, maybe not an ‘A.’  Because Jay Mohr was terrible.  But you know what?  I have now watched the NHL Awards twice through (I’ll explain) and once again I’m reminded of how much I love this sport and this league.

Last night I missed half of the acceptance speeches because we were LOLing too hard (after Ryan’s, we proceeded to thank Noureen for all the other guys when they gave their speeches) and we were complaining too much during Jay Mohr’s stuff to completely appreciate it.  We did, however, enjoy the Bobby Ryan/Ryan Getzlaf skit.  Genius.  It was funny, it was entertaining, even my mother cracked up.  I love things like that.  These guys have such great personalities and the league really should showcase that.

Today I watched my recording of it, which was fantastic.  I could fast-forward through all the awkward banter and bad musical performances and just watch the acceptance speeches and player bits.  It was quite nice.

I’m always down for a good “Alex Ovechkin looks like a caveman” joke, but Bigfoot?  Really?  I also thoroughly enjoyed his acceptance speech.  I’ll be honest, I was surprised he won the Ted Lindsay award.  I knew there was always the chance he’d win but I didn’t actually think he would.  And while him winning that made me think he really did have a shot at the Hart, I’m okay with the way things turned out.  Alex was voted most valuable player by his peers (I pointed this out ad nauseam to my Sidney Crosby fan friend last night around two in the morning until she threw a pillow at me), Hank got recognition from the media for what really was a great season, and Sid got the “we feel bad that we don’t have any other award to give you so we’re giving you this award” award.  HA.

But I must admit, Sid did look completely out of his element last night.  Poor kid.

I have a theory that it was actually Daniel accepting the awards tonight, and I’d like to keep it that way in my mind.

I love Tyler even more for his speech but the poor thing needs a little work on the hair.  God bless his soul, I can’t wait until he wins ten Norris trophies.

Ryan Miller can work skinny ties like it’s nobody’s business.  I’m very picky about who wears skinny ties, but he gets my seal of approval.

Mike Green, this is what you get for being a fatty and a crappy defenseman.  Yay Duncs!

I cried when Theo was accepting his award.  I have no problem admitting that.  What a guy.  I hope he ends up somewhere good next year.

(Seriously, Darcy, I’ve been saying for at least a year that you need to get him here to back up Ryan.  He’d be a great backup!!)

I think I’m going to hunt down Pavel Datsyuk and get him ordained so he can marry me or give a speech at my wedding or something.  That guy is hilarious.

Patrick Kane is going to get herpes before he’s done in Vegas if he’s not careful.  Good grief, Kaner.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

