What’s All This I’ve Been Hearing About A Condensed Schedule?

October 4, 2009 at 10:48 am | Posted in Alex Ovechkin, Andrew Peters, Brooks Laich, Buffalo Sabres, Carey Price, Chris Butler, Losing Sucks, Montreal Canadiens, Other Teams' Back-up Goalies Kind of Suck, Players, Ray Emery, Ryan Miller, Steve Montador, This Irks Me, Thomas Vanek, Tim Connolly, Tim Kennedy, Tyler Myers, Washington Capitals, Winning Is Totally Awesome | 1 Comment

One of the complaints I’ve been hearing a lot lately is about the condensed schedule we’ll be seeing this year due to the Olympics.  Um, the Sabres don’t play again until Thursday.  That’s not condensed.

Last year, the Sabres beat Montreal in the shootout at the home opener. I was there, and it was one of the most fun games I’ve ever been to just because of the excitement and the fact that after a disappointing season, they started off the new year by winning.

This year, the Sabres lost to Montreal in overtime.  It was a pretty fluky goal, and it was just the first game of the season, and the Sabres still got a point, but I’m disappointed.  Ryan Miller seemed positively chipper about the game (oh, how I have missed Ryan Miller post game interviews), and while there were definitely some positives, the fact still remains that after Timmy scored a power play goal they didn’t get any offense going.  (Um, did Thomas Vanek do ANYTHING last night?  At all?)  The grit was definitely there – especially Timmy K, sticking up for hisself!! – but I expected a little more from the offense.  That’s all.  I just don’t want the Sabres to fall into bad habits, like that one they had last year of being the better team on the ice and then losing.  That habit was supremely annoying.

One thing I was really impressed with, however, was Tyler Myers.  And not just because he reminded me of Napoleon Dynamite.  (“Yeah, I had fun.  God.“)  He was playing in all sorts of situations and I didn’t see him making any glaring mistakes.  I thought he played really well for a 19 year-old making his NHL debut.  There’s no way Lindy can send him back to juniors.

It hurt me that Sir Christopher was in front of Miller for Montreal’s game winning goal.

It seemed to me like Steve Montador got a lot of ice time.

Ryan Miller looked pretty good for most of last night.  So did Carey Price.

Petey got all sorts of fighting-related penalties in his debut with the Devils.

Don Cherry cracked me up last night.  Last year he and I didn’t get along very well, but I decided to give him a second chance this season and he hasn’t blown it yet.

I hope Buffalo beats Phoenix on Thursday, especially since I will be skipping Jim and Pam’s wedding to watch them.

BROOKS GOT THE HARD HAT! The Caps game was pretty sweet, what with five players scoring six goals and Alexander being a badass and getting the scoring started straightaway.  The Monster wasn’t all that impressive, in my opinion.  This is what I like to see, Washington.  But let’s not see the brainfart that was the third period again.

Two things from Brooks’s interview:

1.)  Notice GMGM wandering around in the background not once, but TWICE!  First at the 58 second mark, the next time at the 2:10 mark.  You can also see Ted walking around at the 1:22 mark.  I love when people are randomly wandering around in the background during interviews so much.

2.)  Which player is that hanging out with a baby at the 2:02 mark?  I can’t really tell.  Is it Mo the Second?  It slightly resembles him, but I can’t say for certain.

We have to wait until Thursday for the Sabres to take on Phoenix, but on Thursday Philadelphia is playing Washington.  That’s going to be a really good game, especially since Ray Emery decided to make it seem like his time in Russia actually did reform him.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i love the line “BROOKS GOT THE HARDHAT>>>>>


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

