Jersey Day

September 22, 2009 at 2:51 pm | Posted in Buffalo Sabres, Huh?, Players, Randomness, Washington Capitals, Winning Is Totally Awesome | Leave a comment

Orchard Park’s Homecoming is this weekend, which means this week is Spirit Week.  A day that’s always included in Spirit Week is “Wear Your Favorite Jersey Day.”  That day was today.  I saw way too many Kane jerseys and t-shirts, but props to the girl who wore the Iginla shirt.

When I walked into orchestra sporting my Ovechkin jersey, my friend Christian (who doesn’t follow hockey but listens to me ramble about it) asks me, “Is that the boyfriend or the one you’re cheating on the boyfriend with?”  Haha, Christian.  You’re funny.

I had previously thought one of my friend’s boyfriends couldn’t talk, but he and I actually had a lovely conversation about how much we dislike Crosby after we saw a girl in a Crosby jersey walking by.

And those are my Jersey Day stories.

The Sabres played the Capitals last night, and since the Hockey Gods are apparently punishing me for some heinous crime I don’t recall committing, I was unable to watch or listen to the game. Anne was kind enough to text me updates, however, so I learned of Staffy and PK’s goals and Goosie’s penalties.  (Dear Sasha,  Stop hitting crossbars.  With Love, Frostee)  I’m bummed the Caps lost, but I’m happy that the Sabres were able to win two straight games.  How’s THAT for accountability!!

I’m also bummed when I remember that it’s the preseason and doesn’t count and might not even be a decent indicator of what this team will do this year.

So yeah.  I fully anticipate watching the game tomorrow night.  It’ll be fun.

Oh, by the way, I have MORE PROOF.  Watch this at the 8:06 mark.  Actually, you can and should watch the whole thing, but the proof occurs after the aforementioned time.  Two things:

1.)  Dude, he’s got a video camera and he’s taping Alex.  That’s beyond adorable.  Like, I can’t even begin to describe how much I love that.

2.)  He is wearing his shirt.  For real.  I’m not making this up.

It’s kind of scary how finding as many instances of Papa O wearing the same shirt as I can has become a hobby of mine.  But it’s fun.  He’s hilarious.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

