Fun With Pictures From USA Olympic Orientation Camp

August 19, 2009 at 5:16 pm | Posted in Olympics, Players, Randomness | Leave a comment

As I was perusing the blogosphere this afternoon, I came across this post that Amy wrote.  Now, I always enjoy reading what Amy has to say and this was no exception.  I’m a huge fan of NHL photoshoots in general, because they’re usually such a train wreck that the end result is a magnificent piece of artwork.  In the post, Amy said that on Getty Images there were more pictures from the Olympic Camp if you searched “hockey,” and since I don’t have any plans for another two hours, I figured I’d kill some time by doing just that.

Boy, am I glad I did.  These pictures are marvelous.  Looking at them is such a rewarding experience.

First off, for the headshots, it looks like the photographer made a bunch of players do a scary face and then a smiley face.  It’s like when you take group pictures of five year-olds and the only way you can get them to smile nicely for the shot is if you promise to take a silly picture after.  I can totally picture the photographer telling Dustin Byfuglien, “Okay, fine Dustin, I’ll take a picture of you glaring at me like that, but only if you smile nicely first!”

And then there are the poses.  Amy summed it up nicely; the various elements used should never all be featured in the same picture.  Chris Drury agrees.

89855015You want me to do what with a stick after this one?

Let’s see what some of the other players had to say about their pictures.

89855023Guys, I’m totally down with being an adorable Jon Heder look-alike a veteran leader, but could you please turn the fan down?  It’s blowing my hair.

89854976Wait…I thought I was invited to camp to try out for the team!  Not be the stick boy!

89836938All:  Sweet mother of mercy, he’s coming back to play another year!

89855019 17-02-41How many times to I have to ask?  Please turn the fan down!!

89855654I’m going to make Frostee do a triple-take when she’s looking through the pictures because I look just like a kid she goes to school with.

89856083Am I leaning in close enough?

89856076This is embarrassing.

89855021This picture will turn out great!  Now Abercrombie will have no choice but to hire me for their fall campaign!!

89854968TURN DOWN THE EFFING FAN!!!!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

