Patrick Kane, Mike Grier, Joe Biden

August 11, 2009 at 11:11 am | Posted in Buffalo Sabres, Close Encounters, Happy!!, Huh?, Mike Grier, Patrick Kane | Leave a comment

I tried posting right after darling Kaner’s arrest, but between the poor internet connection down here and my phone’s WordPress app deciding to crap out, it didn’t work.  Just a warning, a brief post in which I comment on how proud I am of Kaner for making TMZ might show up here at some point this week.

So, three quick things:

1.)  Um, Patrick Kane got ARRESTED?!?!  Whoa.  Totally did not see that coming.  I mean, I’ve heard he’s a total ego head, but still.  Way to make us proud, Patty.  You definitely are Buffalo’s Favorite Son.

I’m sure there’s more to this story than what we’re hearing, but I also think that this doesn’t make Kaner look too good.  Hasn’t he always been marketed as a stand up guy and the cute little Buffalo Boy who just loves hockey?

2.)  Um, Mike Grier SIGNED WITH THE SABRES?!?!  Whoa.  Totally did not see that coming.  He’ll definitely fill that leadership role the Sabres so desperately need, but still.  Wow.  I freaked out in my aunt’s kitchen when I got my Sabres text yesterday.  The general feel seems to be “OMGAH MIKE GRIER?!?!”, so at least I’m not alone in being completely blown away/perplexed by this deal.

And with that, Darcy has made his Big Move of the summer and can now kick back.

3.)  I wasn’t sure if I should mention it here or on Facebook or Twitter or anything like that (in case it would compromise national security or something), but it came to our attention shortly before we left that Joe Biden and his family were going to be vacationing on Kiawah this week as well.  We had made a lot of jokes about running into him and relaxing on the beach with him and other things of that nature.  We also all said we hoped we’d see him.

Well, two days ago my parents woke up at the crack of dawn to take a bike ride on the beach before the tide came in.  When they got back, they informed us that in one of the houses down on the less-habitated streets of the island, there were two secret service agents posted at the end of the boardwalk, complete with dark sunglasses, earpieces, and guns in their pockets.  There was also a Coast Guard ship in the water right in front of the house.  After establishing that that was where Joe was staying, they decided to get up again the next morning and bike by.  Instead of seeing the secret service guys guarding his house, they saw him.  He said hello to them and everything.

I was quite jealous, so yesterday afternoon I decided to bike over to the street we had determined he was staying on.  I’ve been over that way before, and it’s a serious bike ride.  I did, however, see a big black Suburban in a driveway.

I still wanted to see Joe, as did my aunt and my cousin, so this morning we woke up early and took off down the beach to see if he was out walking again.  Yesterday my parents had to bike down pretty far to see him, but today, after only biking for about twenty minutes, we saw the convoy.

I won’t go into details, because again, I don’t want to compromise national security or anything like that, but I will say that one secret service agent said good morning to me, one chatted me and my cousin up, and Joe Biden, Vice President of the United States of America, flashed us his white smile and said, “Good morning!”

It’s totally lame, but at the same time, totally exciting.  He was four feet away from me.

(And he was shirtless, something my aunt found rather amusing.)

So that’s my exciting celebrity encounter for the week.  Much cooler than when I saw BJ Novak in Boston.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

