Harry Potter!

July 31, 2009 at 11:39 am | Posted in Randomness | 1 Comment

In honor of Harry Potter’s 29th birthday, I thought I’d dedicate a post to him.

There are very few things I love more than hockey in this world.  I think the only ones that rank higher are my parents (and my brother, when he’s not being a git), my dog, reading in general, and the Harry Potter series.  To be perfectly honest, I am completely obsessed with Harry Potter.  I consider JK Rowling to be one of my heroes.  I’ve been reading the Harry Potter books for my entire life, and after the seventh one came out I cried not only for the deaths in it, but because of the realization that I would never get to go to Borders at midnight to get a new book.

In addition to all seven books and the first five movies (the movies are never, EVER as good, but I buy them because I’m a good fan), I also have two wands, a set of robes, and a gray pleated skirt like the ones the girls wore in the first two movies.  It doesn’t fit me anymore, but I wore it both years I went as Hermione.  I also have Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and Quidditch Through the Ages, and two posters relating to the series.  Possibly three.  I’ve eaten Bertie Botts Every Flavor Beans and I had an acid pop once.  After the seventh book came out I was interviewed about it on WBEN.  I am a Harry Potter nerd in the first degree.

Before the sixth movie I reread the sixth and seventh books, and now I’m rereading the fourth book.  I’ll move on to the fifth next, and I can’t decide if I want to reread the first three books too.  I actually kind of want to watch the fourth movie, but I’m not sure if I can put up with Daniel Radcliffe’s hair for two and a half hours.

So…yeah.  Happy birthday, Harry Potter!!  (And a happy birthday to JK Rowling, too!)

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Where did you see Dave Steckel’s dad? I am starting to kinda like Dave Steckel but I still can’t get over the feeling that he is a giant douchebag. An adorable father will greatly help his chances of me not hating and mocking him.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

