Story Time

July 22, 2009 at 9:41 am | Posted in Andrej Sekera, Clarke MacArthur, Contracts | Leave a comment

Yesterday, after my mother and I went shopping, we stopped by my grandparents’ house to say hello.  While my mother was helping my grandmother in the kitchen, my grandfather asked me about the recent affairs of the Sabres.  He knows he can always rely on me to keep him up to date.

“So, looks like the Sabres signed a few new fellows yesterday,” Grandpa started.

“Sekera and MacArthur?” I replied.  I had learned (the hard way) that it’s not always wise to use my crazy nicknames with him.

Grandpa nodded.  “Yes, I think those were the names.”

Now, my grandfather is 90, so I know to be very patient with them.  However, he’s been a lifelong sports fan and usually does well remembering names or at least players.  (Example: he occasionally forgets Alex’s name, which is fine because it’s a bit unusual, but always remembers that I like “that Russian fellow.”  And he knows that the Russian fellow in question isn’t “the other one in Pittsburgh with Crosby.”  But I digress.)  I was a bit surprised when he seemed to have never heard those names before the signing was announced.

“Grandpa,” I said gently, “Sekera and MacArthur played for the Sabres last year.”

The look he gave me was priceless.  Reggie and Clarkey weren’t memorable enough for my grandfather, so he just assumed we had signed a few new guys.  I had to remind him that the Sabres almost never sign new people.  It’s not something they do.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

