On To The Conference Finals!

May 15, 2009 at 4:35 pm | Posted in Alex Ovechkin, Carolina Hurricanes, Detroit Red Wings, Frostee Does Predictions!, Hockey Gods, Jose Theodore, Pittsburgh Penguins, Randomness, Semyon Varlamov, Sergei Fedorov, Washington Capitals | Leave a comment

But first, a few things from the Caps’ locker clean out.

When they were interviewing Jose Theodore the goaltending position came up.  Jose was pretty much, “I may have been benched from the second game of the playoffs on, but that #1 job is mine, bitch.”  What he actually said when asked about Simeon is “Well, he’s the goalie of the future.”  

Dear Hockey Gods,

If you provide us with a major bitch fight between Simeon Varlamov and Jose Theodore during training camp next year, I will never say anything against you ever again.

With Love,

Frostee

Alex was wearing the same shirt he wore in Beijing last summer.  It says Sochi 2014.  I stared at it or a good five minutes before I realized where I had seen it before, and then I hurried to check my archives.  Don’t judge me.  I have a freaky memory when it comes to clothes.  I could probably tell you what you were wearing last time I saw you (if I’ve ever hung out with you before).  It’s weird.

And he’s leaving for Moscow tonight?!?  SOB!  I’m so sad that he’s not going to be on this continent.  Can they make him come back and do another intermission report during the Stanley Cup Finals?  That was horrific awesome.  Why do I love European players so much?  They only leave me for Europe in the summer, and I am left alone in this country.  What does Russia have that we don’t?  

Dear Alex,

I appreciate your decision to not go to Turkey since it’s “bad for you.”  Heh.  We wouldn’t want you getting into any trouble.

With Love,

Frostee

Dear Sergei Fedorov,

As you’ve stated your desire to play next yera, and the entire Washington Capitals organization seems to have a massive man crush on you, you’ll totally come back next year, right??

With Love,

Frostee

Okay, on to the Game Sevens last night.

Detroit won – big surprise – and so did Carolina.  Wow.  I was definitely rooting for the Hurricanes, but I didn’t think they’d actually come out alive.  Cam Ward is now undefeated in Game Sevens in his career.  Nice stat, Mr. Ward.

As much as I’d like to think Carolina could beat Pittsburgh, I just don’t know.  They’re going to have to be fantastic to beat the Pens.

I really want the Detroit/Chicago series to be like one long string of Winter Classics.  That game was highly enjoyable, and I’m hoping for an exciting series.

My picks for the Stanley Cup Finals are….drum roll…Detroit and Pittsburgh.  Rematch of last year.  I just don’t see anyone beating Detroit, and I think Pittsburgh will come out alive in their series, unless Eric Staal manages to score in four straight games.

Dear Detroit Red Wings,

If you beat Pittsburgh for the second year in a row to win the Stanley Cup, I will love you forever.  This is not an exaggeration.  

With Love,

Frostee

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

