Wednesday Ramblings (#63)

April 22, 2009 at 4:21 pm | Posted in 65 Reasons I Love A.M.O., Alex Ovechkin, Carolina Hurricanes, Columbus Blue Jackets, Detroit Red Wings, Happy!!, Lars Nicklas Backstrom, Pittsburgh Penguins, Randomness, San Jose Sharks, St. Louis Blues, Vancouver Canucks, Washington Capitals | Leave a comment
  • Vancouver completed the sweep last night.  So long, St. Louis.  Screws one of my predictions.
  • Pittsburgh won.  Ew.  There were WAY too many people wearing Crosby jerseys at school today.
  • Detroit also won, so they’ll most likely sweep in the next game.  At least it was a good experience for Columbus, right?  They looked so overwhelmed for the few minutes I watched.
  • San Jose won as well.  I was shocked.
  • Carolina scored the game-winner with .2 seconds left in regulation.  I was watching.  The ‘Canes had been putting the pressure on and for no apparent reason, even with four seconds left I still thought they might pull it off.  They did.  This series is so going seven games.
  • Last night there was a segment on E:60 about one Mr. Alexander Ovechkin.  It was an epic twelve minutes, to say the least.  I’m going to try and summarize it for you here:  baby pictures, robot impressions, concern over lost licenses, Daddy Ovechkin in the Streetwear hat I want (seriously, Alex?  You’ve got your father in one of those?), a personal shoutout to me (because that’s what it was when they mentioned the “fanatic following” he has, right?) and the quote of the night when he was asked what he does when he goes out.  Apparently it’s not appropriate for television.  I have only one thing to say about that.  If those boys are going out and doing bad things, they BETTER NOT be bringing Nicklas with them.  I don’t really care what shenanigans they get in to, but Nicklas has a bedtime.  And he’s still innocent.  If they’re scarring him, there’s going to be serious trouble.
  • Speaking of Nicklas, while I was eating breakfast my dad told me that Nick Backstrom was having hip surgery and would be out six months.  I choked on my banana bread, thinking he meant my Nick.  Apologies to the Minnesota fans, that does kind of suck.
  • I’m very conflicted about the Caps game tonight.  On the one hand, when they went down 0-2 I knew they were done.  Then Simeon came in, and after seeing the game Monday night, I feel hope.  If being a Sabres fan has given me one thing, it’s the ability to hope against all hope, and hope even when only 12.7% of the teams that went down 2-1 came back to win it.  These Capitals are a plucky little bunch.  If there’s any team that could come back, now that they have a solid young goaltender, it’s them.  But I don’t want to get too excited.  
  • P.S. to the Capitals: If you could keep this to a six-game series, I’d really appreciate it.  It’s just that I have a huge test the morning after what would be game seven, and I need to study and don’t need the stress, and knowing my luck it would be one of those marathon overtime sessions.  ‘Kaythxbye.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

