Richard Zednik Is Going To Win The Masterton

April 1, 2009 at 3:57 pm | Posted in Andrew Peters, Atlanta Thrashers, Buffalo Sabres, Contracts, Dominic Moore, Happy!!, Ilya Kovalchuk, Jaroslav Spacek, Mikael Tellqvist, Patrick Lalime, Richard Zednik, Teppo Numminen, Trendy Euro Sabres, Washington Capitals, What Is Up With All These Injuries? | 2 Comments

I was really happy when I saw Teppo got nominated – because coming back from open heart surgery to play when you’re 40 years old is quite an accomplishment – but let’s be honest.  Richard Zednik had his artery sliced open and almost died.  He has this award locked up, and I really don’t have a problem with that.  (Although Brian Pothier’s story is pretty heart-warming too…)

______________________________________________________

I just thought you should know that all day I have been going up to people and reminding them that the Funnest Week of Hockey Ever starts tonight.  The Sabres are in Atlanta to play the outrageously frustrating Thrashers tonight, they face my beloved Caps on Friday, and then Sunday afternoon the Caps and Thrashers play each other.  I have told you this before, but I’m saying it again.  I have also said before that if I was a true, diehard Thrashers fan (but does that species even exist?) I would be so effing mad at this team.  They sucked royally for the first three or four months before turning it up.  Thrashers, there is absolutely no point in losing the first thirty games of the season and then winning five straight.  That does nothing but screw over your chances of getting the first pick.  Either be good for the entire season, or be bad.

And please don’t trade Ilya to LA.  I could handle a trade to Montreal, because then he’d be in our division, but do not trade him to LA.  I will never see him again if you do, and that would make me very sad.

My friend’s dad is going to be on Jeopardy Friday night but we’re DVRing it so I can watch the Caps.  I decided if for some odd reason the Sabres should lose (5-3) tonight I’ll have to root for the Caps because at that point the Sabres’ season will be over and the Caps need to take advantage of New Jersey’s current skid; but if Buffalo squeaks out a win I’ll cheer for them.  To start.

I entered to win tickets to the Washington/Atlanta game Sunday but didn’t.  I’m a little upset. 

Trendy Euro is backing up Miller because poor Lala has some sort of hip ailment.  Frostee’s Mom is very excited.

While I’m definitely (and inexplicably) attached to Trendy Euro, I find myself not feeling the same way about Harvard.  I’m sorry.  He just seems to be like a lot of the other Sabres: completely ineffectual.  I know he’s been taking faceoffs and killing penalties and bringing grit to the lineup, but I’m kind of sick of seeing that.  My apologies, Mr. Harvard, but in my humble opinion you don’t seem to be worth $3 million.

I just broke the news to my friend that Petey is a UFA this summer.  It did not go over too well.  I love Petey, but if the Sabres sign him before they sign Caveman we are going to have some serious problems.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I agree about Harvard. I’m pretty apathetic about his presence. He’s about as effective as Big Bear but barely 1/10th as adorable. Therefore, we will probably re-sign him.

  2. Ohhhh Zednik… yep… I think he seals it. As much as I would like to see Teppo grab that award up… I think Zednik should get considering he got hit in the face with the puck in the same corner last time they were in town. Guy has no luck.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

