Blast My Need For Sleep

March 11, 2009 at 4:44 pm | Posted in Atlanta Thrashers, Buffalo Sabres, Frostee Loves Way Too Many Guys, Maxim Afinogenov, Sergei Fedorov, Stick a fork in it, That was absolutely terrible. | 1 Comment

I’ve been really tired this week, so after the DISASTER that was last night’s Sabres game I hit the hay.  I decided that the Caps would understand if I skipped out on the last period of the game to catch up on my beauty sleep.  I woke up to discover that my inappropriate Caps crush (Sergei Fedorov is old enough to be my father.  I should not be attracted to him) scored in overtime to end the game and snap the losing streak!  YAY!

Dear Readers, I hate to be all Nancy Negative, but the Sabres aren’t making the playoffs.  They can’t win the key games and they can’t beat the teams that are already in the playoffs.  If they can’t be relied on to put together a string of wins, they can’t be relied on.  Whatever.  Last year I was freaking out by this point, but now I’m surprisingly chill about it all.  What will come will come.  Maybe next year when we have a healthy Ryan Miller and some major shakeups (SURELY there will be shakeups after missing the playoffs two seasons in a row?) we can try to get back in.

I decided last night that I will watch the rest of the season, but only with mild interest/emotional investment.  I have the Caps to root for in the playoffs, so it’s not like I’ll be a playoffs orphan.  Maybe someday the Sabres will be a contender.

One highlight I did take away from last night’s game was Max’s goal.  Max has scored three goals this season.  I can not tell you how funny I find the fact that 2/3 of those goals were scored when he was trying to get out of the way.  For the second time in a row, Max was jumping to try and not get hit by the puck and he ended up scoring.  I was cracking up last night.  It was great.

I was at the faculty basketball game this afternoon.  While I was pleased that our team had all the, err, attractive teachers, I was disappointed to see that they all kind of suck.  Seriously?  This is what the second draft pick got us?  A loss in the first game after leading by seven points with five minutes left? (These games were very low scoring.  Seven points was a big margin.)

I’m missing tomorrow night’s game because of religion, but I can’t even begin to describe how excited I am for Saturday night’s game.  The Sabres may suck and I may hate them, but they’re still the Sabres.  And they’re playing the Thrashers.  In case you’ve forgotten, I fell in love with the Thrashers when they were the only games we got in South Carolina.  They’re scrappy and adorable.  I love them.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. be careful of Fedorov.. he likes ’em young. 😉

    And he might be old but he’s still pretty foxy- especially when he remembers how to score goals! 😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

