Guess What Today Is! (Can You Tell I Have A Lot Of Studying To Do?)

March 1, 2009 at 12:20 pm | Posted in Alex Ovechkin, Bobbleheads, Happy!! | 2 Comments

Since the LAST thing I want to do right now is edit a paper or study, I thought I’d let you all in on a little secret.

Today, March 1, 2009, is the one-year anniversary of the day I purchased Mini Alex.  (I technically bought him on February 29, but, whatever.  It’s been a whole, wonderful year either way.)

Isn’t amazing how the time flies?  It seems like just yesterday I hauled my sleep-deprived, cranky body up from the table where we had been sucking down smoothies in a D.C. mall so I could look for some sort of Alex memorabilia in the sports shop.  Mini Alex was the very last one they had in stock and the coupon booklet the tour company had given us entitled me to a free t-shirt if I spent more than $20 dollars on something.  Now, a whole year later, Mini Alex spends his days on my bookshelf and the t-shirt I got is one of my favorites.

Here’s the thing, Dear Readers.  A year ago, I was just starting to develop feelings for Regular Alex.  I was starting to realize that the Sabres’ season was going down the shitter and that all the fans who hated him only hated him because he was good.  I started watching him and realized how amazing he actually is at hockey, and I started realizing that these Capitals were quite enjoyable to watch.  At least THEY knew how to win.  I bought Mini Alex as a joke at first, because who doesn’t want the bobblehead of a player on a team they only semi-care about?  But then I fell more in love with the Capitals and more in love with Regular Alex…and now I’m totally obsessed.  A love for a player or a team can develop in the most random ways.  Loving the Sabres is a genetic thing for me.  Loving the Capitals is something that came about because of one little bobblehead.

p80400011

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have a Marty Biron bobblehead.

    • I have a Marty Biron bobblehead.
      that’s kind of awesome.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

