I Blame Jason Pominville. (#53)

January 11, 2009 at 10:43 am | Posted in 65 Reasons I Love A.M.O., Alex Ovechkin, Alexander Semin, Buffalo Sabres, Derek Roy, Detroit Red Wings, Football, Jason Pominville, Jeff Carter, Losing Sucks, Other Teams' Back-up Goalies Kind of Suck, Ryan Miller, This Irks Me, Thomas Vanek, Tim Connolly, Washington Capitals | 2 Comments

There.  I said it.  I feel almost blasphemous, and I hope he doesn’t find out because I don’t want to make him cry, but I’m blaming Pommer for the loss last night.  Sure, the defense left Miller out to dry (it doesn’t matter if your goalie is as good as Ryan was last night, Defense.  You need to step it up), but when Jochen fed Pommer the puck on a two-on-one with six minutes left and he had an EMPTY NET and was unable to score, I’m going to get a little angry.  And it was his second one last night!  It looked like he had been doing the same thing against New York Friday night: having really great chances and hitting the side of the net or whiffing on the shot.  NOT COOL.  Jason, I’m sorry if I’m hurting your feelings, but brother, you need to start getting those shots.  Those are supposed to be goals right there.  

One player – other than Miller – who did show up last night?  Derek Roy.  D, you have been playing excellently lately.  I’m very proud of you.  We can’t rely on Thomas Vanek to score all our goals and it’s refreshing to see you contributing.

Detroit is really good at hockey.  Seventeen straight years in the playoffs?  On the one hand you want to be blown away by that statistic, but on the other hand you kind of want to yell at Detroit for being greedy and hogging all the good seeds.

Timmy had a couple good plays last night, a couple bad ones.  Eh.  Still a little “rusty.”  (We had an ongoing joke last night that before the game he went to my cousin’s fiance’s bar, which is literally a block away from the football field and baseball stadium, to try and pick up a few ladies.  We also had a joke about my cousin’s fiance spotting Derek the second he walked in, but that’s a whole other story.  I won’t go there.)

I hope Lalime gets the start in Chicago Wednesday night.  Miller has been on FIRE but he was starting to look a little tired at the end of the game.  That’ll be another huge game for the Sabres, and then when they play Dallas the next night it will also be important.  Carolina and Pittsburgh lost, but Florida and New Jersey won, so Buffalo can’t let those four points slip away.  

So, the Sabres aren’t playing again until Wednesday, and that game isn’t until 8:30.  I probably shouldn’t complain, because Gossip Girl and One Tree Hill are on tomorrow I have a ton of studying to do for midterms.  And the other game on Wednesday is the Capitals/Penguins game, which should be really good.  The Pens basically suck now, but it will be the second night of a back-to-back for Washington and they just lost two straight (my jersey is on a losing streak so I’m benching it Tuesday).  Then there are the Semin/Crosby and the Ovechkin/Malkin subplots.  I desperately want Semin and Crosby to fight, and I want Alex to actually grind Malkin into the boards the way he always tries to.  If Semin fights Sid, I would rewind it and record it and watch it whenever I’m in a bad mood.

Jeff Carter scored last night.  TWICE.  I have no idea what is up with him suddenly scoring all these goals, but Alex/Thomas need to start lighting the lamp again.  I will not have them lose the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy to JEFF CARTER.

I don’t really want to talk about the Caps game last night.  Nylander, you better watch your back.  Alex was about to get his 28th goal and you just had to go and deflect it.  Brent Johnson, you also better watch it, because you should not be letting goals like that in with 20 seconds left.  (Seeing Bruce cover his face with his hands when that goal went in was absolutely priceless.  Poor, poor Bruce)

Since both of my teams lost last night, please indulge me.  You see, when we realized we would be getting the Hockey Night in Canada feed for the Caps game, we were at first very disappointed because it meant there would be no Joe.  HNiC made up for it, however, when they showed the locker room footage before the game.  I don’t care if it makes me sound like a puck bunny, I’m going to say it anyway:  I TOTALLY LOVE when they show us Alex WITHOUT HIS SHIRT getting ready.  My goodness, does he have the BEST BICEPS I HAVE EVER SEEN, OR WHAT.  Two tickets to the gun show!  And it was adorable how he had his big ol’ headphones on and was bobbing away to the music.  Almost as cute as when he was shaking his butt here in Buffalo during the national anthems.

I haven’t been paying all that much attention to the NFL playoffs, but I do know that after Carolina lost last night my aunt was so mad she wouldn’t even text us back.  Her love for the Panthers makes my love for the Sabres and hockey in general look like a minor interest.  She’s crazy.  She goes to every home game and gets mad at us when we don’t call her to congratulate her on their wins.  My uncle might want to put her on suicide watch.

#53:

There are so many things I could say about this video.  I almost fell out of my chair when they showed it.  I just…I can’t even describe it.  Alexander Semin and Alex Ovechkin officially beat out the Laich/Green, Petey/Royzie and Burish/Sharp bromances in the NHL.   (And apparently Alex lifted Semin up the right way, using his knees instead of his back.  What a good boy!)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Whenever I see the guys in their Under Armor I feel like a kid on Christmas morning and that Santa has given me everything I ever wanted. And Alex wooo that wow I’m speechless the strength he must have in his back and knees…

    • Whenever I see the guys in their Under Armor I feel like a kid on Christmas morning and that Santa has given me everything I ever wanted.
      I feel EXACTLY the same way.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

