Is Jarkko A Twilight Fan?

January 7, 2009 at 3:22 pm | Posted in Alex Ovechkin, Alexander Semin, Andrew Peters, Buffalo Sabres, Chris Clark, Huh?, Jarkko Ruutu, Jeff Carter, Matt Ellis, Patrick Lalime, Ryan Miller, Thomas Vanek, Washington Capitals, What Is Up With All These Injuries?, Winning Is Totally Awesome | 4 Comments

Good grief.  I really can’t believe he bit poor Petey.  And his texting thumb, too!  The only logical explanation I can come up with, other than Ruutu just being crazy, is that he’s a Twilight fan.  Trust me on this, I go to high school.  I’m surrounded by girls talking constantly about biting.  And Jarkko’s post-game comments about Petey’s hand just being near his mouth and all that sounded exactly like five year-old Frostee.  I may or may not have bit my brother when we were really little, and when asked about it I said, “I didn’t bite him.  I just accidentally caught his hand with my mouth.”  (As you can see, I was quick and clever as a child too)  That’s basically what Jarkko’s saying, but at least Colin Campbell listened for once.  Two games for Mr. Ruutu, his second suspension of the season.  He’ll miss Boston and New York, but somehow I think that it won’t make that much of a difference for the Senators.  I can’t wait to hear what Petey has to say about the suspension.  He’s been so politically correct through the whole thing, talking about how hard it is for the referees and all that other crap.  I kind of wanted him to just trash talk Ruutu, but I guess he’s too nice for that.

The biting incident aside, that was a huge win for the Sabres.  I had absolutely ZERO confidence in them winning, because all season they’ve shown that they’re cocky and enjoy following wins over good teams with losses to crappy teams.  When Matt Ellis scored 15 seconds in (Matt!  Call me!  I promise, I’ll babysit WHENEVER you want!!!), I was quite surprised.  I definitely love the Pommer-Gaustad-Ellis line.  It’s been doing some pretty awesome stuff lately.  When Spezza scored those two goals I figured the game was over and the Sabres were going to lose.  It’s refreshing to see them hold a lead twice.  In two games.  In a row.  It was also really great for the penalty kill to be perfect, because Ottawa somehow manages to have a decent power play.  Go figure.

I think Patrick Lalime and Ryan Miller are officially BFFs now.  Did you all see the bright yellow skull cap Lala was working?

Craig decided to try and fight in his first game back after the injury.  Nice, Craig.  Screw your shoulder up again.  Teppo played, and Toni was the one out sick.  

I cheered for Vanek and his empty-netter because now he’s tied for the lead league in goals again.  Woo!  Neither Alex nor Jeff Carter were able to light the lamp last night.  Alex was, however, about to grind Carter into the Verizon Center ice when he got out of the way and Alex drilled Chris Clark instead.  I may or may not have giggled at the sight of it all.  My jersey went 4-0 as Kozlov scored the only shootout goal for the Caps and Jose stopped all three attempts.  Both Alexes were stopped in the shootout.  I thought Semin’s attempt was pretty weak, personally, and Alex just further proved that while he is a spectacular player, he’s not very good in shootouts.  I have yet to see him score a shootout goal.  Question to any Capitals fans reading this post:  Are Bruce and John Stevens in a bitch fight?

Carolina beat New Jersey so they’re still in seventh place, and Pittsburgh won (against Atlanta) to close the gap.  The game against the Rangers on Friday is actually really big; New York is six points ahead of the Sabres but with Pittsburgh only a point behind now, the Sabres need both points up for grabs.  Boston lost AGAIN to Minnesota…have the Sabres started the Bruins’ downward spiral?

Apparently Toronto traded a draft pick today for Brad May.  Interesting that Brian Burke traded for a player on the team he had just left.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m pleased to say that other than not ever hearing the name jarkko rutuu before, i somewhat understood that post. My efforts are paying off!

  2. Stupid Jarkko, I think that the trainer needs to carry a spray bottle around (like they do with dogs) so that everytime he goes to do something bad the trainer can spray him with pepper spray or something equally as offensive in order to make sure he doesn’t.

  3. I saw the skully! And I said OMG LA LA is wearing a skully just like Millsie!

  4. […] remember how after the Bite Game I said how Jarkko must be a Twilight fan?  Yeah, well, Sports Illustrated copied me.  I was perusing […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

