Saturday Ramblings

December 13, 2008 at 9:37 am | Posted in Alex Ovechkin, Brooks Laich, Buffalo Sabres, Craig Rivet, Drew Stafford, Losing Sucks, Players, Randomness, This Irks Me, Tim Connolly must be made of toothpicks and chewing gum, Washington Capitals, What Is Up With All These Injuries? | 5 Comments
  • So, last night’s game was fun for the first period.  Even most of the second period was fun.  I had the house to myself, the Sabres scored first, Gerbe almost came up to Tallinder’s shoulder when they were celebrating, life was good.  Then the Sabres failed to score on 5:44 of power play time.  And even better, they only got ONE SHOT.  Boys, you’re going to have to do better than that if you want to win a game.  And Thomas didn’t score 😦
  • I didn’t watch the Sabres show last night, but I did catch the interview with Drew Stafford.  You know what?  Drew Stafford is a TOTAL creeper.  If I saw him walking down the street, I would turn the other way.  That guy scares me.
  • New Jersey killed New York last night and I haven’t yet decided if scoring 8 goals and winning tired them out, or energized them.  I’m really hoping it’s the first one.
  • I don’t even know how the two of us do it anymore.  Not even kidding, Alex Ovechkin scored both of his goals about ten seconds after I flipped back to that game.  It’s kind of awesome.
  • Bruce, if you EVER need a babysitter for Brady, CALL ME!  Oh my goodness, that kid is quite possibly the cutest thing I have ever seen! (Lala’s daughters aside, of course)  Brady Boudreau, Kid Reporter, is probably the best segment ever.  It was hilarious to see Steckel lean down to get to his level and Mike Green (Greenie and Federov were back last night!  Yay!!  And Mike ssscccooorrreeedd!) discuss changing roommates, but my favorite of the interviews was the one with Brooks Laich.  Sure, it was probably the thousandth time hearing him talk about his system for road trips, and how he’s in charge of the room temperature and the blinds, but when Brady asked him if he was still the Ladies’ Man, “like you were in the video last year,” I about died.  Brooks told Brady that if he kept asking him all those questions he would have to stop answering them, and then the best part of the entire interview happened, when he turned it around and asked Brady if he had a girlfriend.  Brady’s response?  “I can’t answer that question.”
  • I think it’s the Buffalo News’s fault that the Sabres only scored one goal last night, because they made a big deal about how if the Sabres scored two goals last night it would be the 1,000th goal in franchise history.  And then I made the jinx worse by saying how it would be the coolest thing ever if the 1,000th goal also happened to be Gerbe’s first NHL goal.
  • Guys, is Craig Rivet becoming the new Tim Connolly?
  • The Senators’ mustaches are ridiculous.  
  • Last night, with thirty seconds left in the second period, my dog Kieffer decided he had to go to the bathroom.  He started giving me attitude when I told him he would have to wait until the period was over, and then he got mad when the Leafs kept icing the puck and he had to wait longer.  He finally got out, and when he came back in I made him sit on the rug so his paws could dry off.  I walked around the corner and into the kitchen, and I was almost back in the family room when I heard him creeping in.  It was really cute, because when I turned around he just had his head sticking around the corner to see if I saw him coming.  As soon as he saw me he ran back to the rug and sat down so he could pretend he had been there the entire time.  It was great.  
  • I am pretty sure I will be watching the game tonight.  I’ll be chillin’ with the grandparents since I haven’t seen them in a while and my grandmother wants to watch that HBO John Adams special, but my grandfather likes watching hockey with me.  Apparently I amuse him when I get really into the games.  The only thing is, he is crazy in love with Hockey Night in Canada and has a huge man-crush on Don Cherry (he actually has one on Mike Robitaille too), so we might have to watch that.  I just hope that CBC decides to play the Caps/Habs game even though the people of Buffalo might rather see the Senators play.  *crosses fingers*
  • Related to hockey but not to last night’s game, I keep forgetting to mention how my mom and Danny Gare are like BFFs.  Waaaaay back when he played for the Sabres she was at a pool party and he was there.  Apparently his legs are redonkulously muscular.  And kind of hairy.
5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just FYI: according to my TV CBC has decided to play the Montreal/Washington game tonight everywhere except for Ottawa.

  2. It’s not the 1,000th goal is Sabres history, it’s the 10,000th goal.

  3. Senators’ moustaches = amazing.
    Almost died laughing when I saw Spezza’s.

  4. Bruce Boudreau and his family are the cutest people ever. Hands down. My Bruce Boudreau facebook flair is my favorite…and that’s saying a lot considering I have Pkaleta flair.

    Just found this out that Bruce and Tim Leone (the Hershey Bears beat writer) are writing his autobiography and it’s supposed to come out next year this time. And there’s supposedly an entire chapter about when he coached Sean Avery for a few games in Manchester. An entire chapter!

  5. clare: if i had seen that before i left i would have virtually hugged you
    caroline: uh…yeah. about ten minutes after i logged off i realized my little typo. heh.
    tears of crosby: i want a photo gallery of those mustaches.
    lulu: i am SO going to the midnight release of that book.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

