I Don’t Like These Rankings

July 30, 2008 at 2:06 pm | Posted in Buffalo Sabres, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins, Tampa Bay Lightning, Washington Capitals | 1 Comment

Before I start today’s post, I would just like to say how surprised I am that I’m even sitting here writing it.  Usually my parents are very family oriented and anti-internet when we are on vacation.  This is a nice change.

Now, on to what I really have to say.  ESPN released their Summer Power Rankings, and I have several issues with them.  First and foremost, the Sabres are in ninth place.  Now, I know the playoff teams from last year haven’t really gotten any worse (other than Ottawa and possibly Boston), and other teams like Tampa Bay looks like they might be in the hunt, but still.  I am not liking that the Sabres are not expected to have a postseason at this point.  I don’t even care that it’s still July.  

I did like that the Capitals were expected to make it back in, but that’s what confuses me.  They were ranked at fifth in the Eastern Conference, with Pittsburgh, Montreal, Philadelphia, and the Rangers above them.  There are no teams from the Southeast Division above them.  Aren’t the three division-winning teams supposed to be given the top three seeds in the conference?  That’s how the Capitals even got into the playoffs last year!  This is making me think that I shouldn’t even be worried that the Sabres were ranked in ninth place, because it doesn’t look like ESPN knows how to do the rankings.

I may be wrong about this, but it is unlikely.  I know how the rankings work pretty well after spending 45 minutes last year on the phone with my grandfather explaining why Carolina was above almost everyone else, even though they had fewer points.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Don’t worry. There is no way the Southeast Division will get three teams in the playoffs. Also, I have to imagine two teams from the Northeast Division will get in.

    However, it does appear like the Sabres are gonna have to give their all to get one of those bottom seeds. Lucky for your boys, if they can take advantage of being in what appears to be the weakest division in the NHL, all they have to do is beat up the likes of Ottawa and Toronto and they’ll get a bunch of points in the standings.

    ~Chris @ pittsburghpucktalk.com


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

