65 Reasons Why I Love Alex Ovechkin: #1 Alexander Mikhailov Ovechkin, Amo

July 15, 2008 at 4:28 pm | Posted in 65 Reasons I Love A.M.O., Alex Ovechkin | 1 Comment

In honor of the first 60 goal scorer the NHL has seen in twelve years, I have decided to start a 65 part series dedicated to explaining why exactly I love Alex Ovechkin so much.  One post for each goal historic goal he scored this season.

Reason #1: Alexander Mikhailov Ovechkin, Amo

I should warn you now, I’m a Latin Lover (<3!).  That means that whenever I see real life ties to Latin, I become unnecessarily excited.  That’s just the way it is.  Therefore, (igitur!!!) I may or may not have shrieked and jumped up and down with joy when I saw dear ol’ Alex’s initials.  His full name is Alexander Mikhailov Ovechkin, and his initials are AMO.  Now, to you good readers this may not mean anything, but to the trained eye of a Latin Lover, it means everything.  AMO is this first person, singular, present tense of the verb amare, which translates to “to love.”  That means that Alexander Mikhailov Ovechkin’s initials mean “I love.”  How can you not love a guy whose initials are not only Latin, but mean “I love”?!?!?!?!?!?!  It’s impossible.  You know it.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m scared for the next one. Can you really get 65?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

