I’m Sure You’re All Dying To Hear What Ovechkin’s Been Up To.

July 17, 2010 at 10:32 am | Posted in Alex Ovechkin, Mike Green, Randomness, Ryan Miller | 2 Comments

(But first, happy birthday, Ryan Miller!!  The big 3-0!)

As you know if you’ve ever read this blog before, Alexander Ovechkin is my favorite player.  If you’re new around here, well, Alexander Ovechkin is my favorite player.  As was, always is, and always will be.  I think he’s the best player in the world and I will fight you to the death over it.  I also apparently share the opinion of the entire NHL, because hey, they voted him MVP this year for the third time in a row.  (And let me tell you, I still chuckle when I remember that after everything that he did and everything Sedin did, they still voted him.  He just won’t go away.)

So this year he had an unfortunately early start to the offseason and hit the World Championships.  He got in lots of shenanigans in Vegas.  He became a godfather (that’s a leap of faith) and has been enjoying the company of lots of women.  He hung out on a boat and wore a speedo, which was not one of his best ideas.  His new “girlfriend” has the most outrageously long hair I’ve ever seen.  I seriously don’t understand.  Where does she put it when she does stuff?  Does she move it out of the way when she sits down?

And then, dear readers, he got a job.  And not just any job.  He is now the advisor to the president of Moscow Dynamo, a KHL club.

Like, where to I even begin?  I guess for such a famous athlete to work with a club from his home is a good idea.  But, he’s not just an “advisor.”  He’s a paid employee. That is so awesome on so many levels.  What does he even advise him on?  Drills to run with the team?  Players to go after?  Which tie looks good with that suit?

Is he secretly acting as a spy, giving NHL secrets to the KHL?  Is this like the Cold War all over again?  Does he get vacation days and sick days?  It’s all a lot to consider.  I think it’s very cool that he’s doing this and is having a “productive summer.”   (The previous term, by the way, is a dirty, dirty term.  Why would I want my summer to be productive, various adults?)  And even though he’s getting paid, supposedly the salary is small.  But still.  This guy is a professional athlete who makes like $9 million a year, and he’s a salaried employee this summer anyway.

“What did you do this summer, Mike Green?”

“I got a lot of tattoos and worked on my man boobs.”

“What did you do this summer, Alex Ovechkin?”

“I was advisor to the president of a KHL hockey club.”

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is it wrong that I can actually see the conversation with Mike Green going exactly like that?

    • it’s totally something he would say. no question.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

