Welcome To Rock Bottom

February 28, 2009 at 9:51 pm | Posted in Alex Ovechkin, Alexander Semin, Buffalo Sabres, Clarke MacArthur, Dan Paille, Frostee Does Predictions!, Henrik Tallinder, Hockey Gods, Huh?, Jochen Hecht, Losing Sucks, New York Islanders, Patrick Lalime, That was absolutely terrible., This Irks Me, Thomas Vanek, Thought-provoking Stuff, Tim Connolly, Trading Madness!, Washington Capitals | 4 Comments

Embarrassing is the only word I can really think of to describe that game.  Getting shut out is bad enough, but getting shut out to the Islanders?  Really?

It makes me sad that the Sabres can’t get a win for Lala.  He’s been really reliable these past few games and has been making great saves, but apparently it’s way too much to ask the Sabres to actually score a freaking goal.  I don’t care how many good chances they had in the first period tonight, Harry.  Chances mean absolutely nothing when the team can’t actually score.  

Trade deadline is Wednesday.  I love the trade deadline because GMs can always be counted on to make completely wacky-doodle trades.  There’s been a lot of talk surrounding a Connolly trade but I actually don’t think Timmy’ll get traded.  He’s too important to this team right now and I get the feeling that Darcy will at least try to resign him.  I definitely expect to see Tallinder shipped out (sorry Heather), and even though I tear up just thinking about it I worry about Pie.  MacArthur has done absolutely nothing memorable lately and I really want Jochen Hecht to go away.  Tallinder, Hecht, and MacArthur might seem like a good package to some of those wacko GMs who go wild on deadline day.  

Semin’s OT winner in the Caps/Bruins game today was fantastic.  I feel really bad for Timtom but when goals like that are scored you can’t help but laugh.

TV is supposed to be back by Wednesday.  If the hockey gods have any mercy at all he will.  

Don Cherry seems to think Alex’s goal celebrations make him like Sean Avery.  Huh.  I really don’t see where he gets that from.  I do know that part of what makes the Capitals so fun to watch is their obvious love for the game and their excitement when they score.  Watching them get incredibly fired up by goals makes me really happy.

Speaking of the Capitals, uh, there’s still room on the bandwagon.  I don’t want to be a Debbie Downer but I’m just puttin’ it out there…

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  2. I worry about Drew, as well. And I am worrying about Timmy around the clock. I woke up and frantically checked my phone in regard to trades. I don’t think I could handle it if we sent him packing. I’d probably wear my Connolly jerseys in protest for a while. And by a while, I mean for life.

  3. [...] Saturday the Sabres got shut out by the Islanders. The Fanatical Fan argues that this is absolute rock bottom for Buffalo. But don’t worry, guys. The Devils got shut out 4-0 by the Islanders last week [...]

  4. Is it really rock bottom? Well, it can;t get much worse, for a team that was well-positioned for a playoff berth. Now, we just have to hope to hold on for eighth…which already is showing us we need any games in hand we have over close competition (Penguins as of today…a point ahead of us but we have a game in hand).


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

